cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PowerAI

Applications for Power Automate in Education

In preparing for the start of a new school year, I sought to improve the workflow efficiency of our current behavior management system. As a science teacher, I was not confident in the use of Power Automate in the beginning, but I later found it to be intuitive to use and very helpful.

The requirements were that when a student breached the acceptable behavior standards, the following process had to be followed:

1. Teachers at the scene are to deal with the situation immediately.
  2. The relevant year level coordinator had to be notified with a summary of the context and the nature of offending behavior via email. Other teachers of the student should also have access to this information for future reference.
  3. The year level coordinator will then contact the student's parents via email and offer an opportunity to discuss the situation by phone. 
  4. Finally, the student will receive detention at the time and location specified by the year level coordinator. 

As these detailed steps are frequently required (usually on a daily basis), it presents a significant challenge to teachers who are already experiencing raising workload concerns and often need to continue teaching amidst the other administrative duties. This is where Power Automate has helped to eliminate a number of repetitive steps by automating the process and address the problem in an efficient way. 

Below are the challenges with each step in the original process used by the school and how my flow addresses each of those challenges.

1. As mentioned earlier, teachers are often in the middle of teaching or some other duty when the situation occurs. It is difficult to find out all the details of the student and who their respective year level coordinator/ other teachers are. This is especially the case for replacement or cover teachers.